Print Prize Finalists Announced

The Geelong Gallery has announced the shortlisted works in contention for the 2017 Geelong Acquisitive Print Prize.

Selected from hundreds of entries from around Australia, the 38 shortlisted works include works by some of the nation’s most talented established and younger generation artists along with a number of artists from the Geelong, Bellarine and Surf Coast regions.

Anita Iacovella, Cumulus CR blue 2017, monoprint, photogravure and collage; unique state.

Reproduced courtesy of the artist and Port Jackson Press, Melbourne

The selection panel for the 2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards includes Jason Smith (Director, Geelong Gallery) and Lisa Sullivan (Curator, Geelong Gallery) along with guest judge, Anne Virgo OAM (Director, Australian Print Workshop).

The prize-winning prints, including the Geelong acquisitive print award ($5,000), the Ursula Hoff Institute award ($3,500), and additional acquisitions (up to $3,000) will be announced at the official opening of the exhibition on Friday 18 August.

Janet Parker-Smith, The vanishing point 2016, screenprint; edition 4/ 8
Reproduced courtesy of the artist and May Space, Sydney

One additional artist will be selected by the judging panel and invited to take up a 5-day printmaking residency at Queenscliff Gallery and Workshop (QG&W).

To see the full list of shortlisted artists click here

[Featured image: Carolyn Hawkins, Trashed (detail) 2015, etching; edition 3/8. Courtesy of the artist]

Feature Image Courtesy: Tract Consulting
Website by Red Onion Creative